Summer placement experience: Purpol Marketing

purpol

Third-year student Business and Management with Psychology Bronwyn Jesse undertook a paid placement last summer with local business Purpol Marketing. Here’s her experience of working from home on her placement, getting involved with small/medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and the impact of her time at Purpol on her choice of career:

“Perhaps one of the more challenging aspects of coming to the end of my placement lies in trying to summarise everything I have learned over the past few months.

“From social media tools to networking, and whitepapers to bid writing, I really have encompassed a variety of skills into 15 weeks. But the biggest thing I’ve taken away is a newfound confidence in my work, which I hope to take back to uni with me in my final year.

“In particular, my placement has helped to refine my own academic and career goals. I thought I knew everything worth knowing about marketing from my degree, but working here has taught me that the world of business is continuously developing. With this in mind, I will look to continuously open myself up to learning new skills.

“My goalposts have also changed. I now have a preference for working with SMEs – I’ve become intrigued with the low-cost day-to-day changes of marketing. There are now targets for £1 in every £3 of government spending to be with small British businesses by 2020, and I’m excited to follow this movement!

“Overall, Purpol Marketing have excelled in giving me a whistle-stop tour of the world of marketing and procurement. While university has helped lay the foundations for marketing knowledge, it’s the time spent on placement that has helped to consolidate my understanding, with the ability to put things I have learnt in the classroom environment in to the real business world.

“I would like to thank Denise for being such an inspiring entrepreneur with an infectious work mentality. Together Denise and I have succeeded in proving that placements working from home with flexible structures, complemented by cloud technology, can be equally rewarding as a traditional setup – I hope this will increasingly become an option offered by more businesses.

“My placement’s home-working methodology was unlike most other internships offered, and it has really distinguished me from others in my graduate job search. More than anything, I am more confident at assessment days, and telephone interviews as I feel I now have something to talk about. The placement has enabled me to put skills such as ‘flexbility, self-management/initiative, communication’ and more, as I can now provide real life examples of this. This has been a learning curve filled with insight, and I’m forever indebted to the Purpol team.”

Interested in undertaking a summer placement of your own? Sign up here to find out about our opportunities as they come in.

Leave a Reply

